You are here
Home > Sponsor News > Twenty-Two Students Inducted to O’Neal’s Jr. Beta

Twenty-Two Students Inducted to O’Neal’s Jr. Beta

Fallback Image

The O’Neal School
P.O. Box 290
Southern Pines, NC  28388-0290
Contact:          Kathy Taylor, Director of Communications
Phone:             (910) 692-6920 ext. 129

Twenty-Two Students Inducted to O’Neal’s Jr. Beta

Southern Pines – An outstanding twenty-two O’Neal seventh and eighth grade students were inducted into the Junior Beta Club. During the ceremony, candles were lit representing the four virtues of the Jr. Beta Club which are: Service, Leadership, Scholarship and Honor. Current members then “tapped” the inductees, whereby the inductees then recited the Junior Beta Pledge.

The guest speaker was Mrs. Sandy Huggins, who is recently retired after teaching English and history in O’Neal’s Middle School for eighteen years.  Mrs. Huggins focused on honesty and integrity. After giving several “what would you do?” instances, she concluded with the message that it is sometimes hard to act in difficult situations, but it is very important to make the right decision.

The new inductees are John Anderson, son of Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Anderson of Cheraw, SC; Dylan Andrews, son of Mr. and Mrs. Donald Andrews of Broadway; Chynna Baldwin, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Clifton Baldwin of Seven Lakes; Andrew Hassenfelt, son of Mr. and Mrs. Ted Hassenfelt of Southern Pines; Kelsey Hoehn-Saric, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Edward Hoehn-Saric of West End; Matthew Hutchens, son of Mr. and Mrs. Avery Hutchens of Broadway; Cole Kirkpatrick, son of Mr. and Mrs. Shaen Kirkpatrick of Pinehurst; Tomi Lawal, son of Drs. Jide and Ganiat Lawal of Pinehurst; Hanson Lucas, son of Dr. and Mrs. Wayne Lucas of West End; Nick Manning, son of Mr. Edward Manning of Pinehurst and Mrs. Alison Rhyne of Southern Pines; Tyra Marsh, daughter of Ms. Carlitha Marsh of Aberdeen; Scotti McGowan, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Pat McGowan of Southern Pines; Davis McGuirt, son of Dr. and Mrs. Wyman McGuirt of Pinehurst; Gates Moore, son of Dr. and Mrs. John Moore of Pinehurst; Andrew Roberson, son of Drs. John and Michelle Roberson of Pinehurst; Jonah Saunders, son of Mr. and Mrs. Randy Saunders of Whispering Pines; Avery Schaefer, daughter of Mr. Bob Schaefer and Ms. Amy Avery of Angier; William Schirmer, son of Dr. and Mrs. Charles Schirmer of Southern Pines; Brian Subin, son of Drs. Glen and Diane Subin of Pinehurst; James Sugg, son of

Cutline: jrbeta.jpg: (L-R) Cole Kirkpatrick, Tomi Lawal, Hanson Lucas and Nick Manning recite the Junior Beta Pledge.

Mr. and Mrs. Russell Sugg of Pinehurst; Lindsay Waters, daughter of Mr. Marvin Waters and Ms. Mary Waters of Pinehurst; and Johnny Webster, son of Mr. and Mrs. Colin Webster of Whispering Pines.

To be eligible for membership, a student must have an average academic grade of A- with no grade below B+ for English, math, science, history and foreign language and receive an approving vote of 75% of faculty members who consider themselves qualified to vote.  This vote w

ill be based on the student’s worthy character, credible achievement, and commendable attitude.
The O’Neal School is a college preparatory, independent day school serving students from Pre-Kindergarten age 3 thru 12th grade. It is dedicated to the development of academic excellence, strength of character, and physical well-being of its students in an environment where self-discipline, integrity, and consideration for others are fundamental. For more information about The O’Neal School, hop onto <>

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply