You are here
Home > Community > Moore County students named AP Scholars

Moore County students named AP Scholars

Fallback Image

One hundred two Moore County Schools’ students have been recognized in the AP Scholar program, three of whom have received the highest designation as National Scholars.

“This is a great honor for these students and a tribute to their hard work and dedication,” said Superintendent Dr. Susan Purser. “Some of them are 2009 graduates, although many of them are among the 2010 graduating class. It is apparent they have established a course for success in all of their endeavors, and I wish them well.”

The designation of AP Scholar by The College Board is awarded to students in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement (AP) exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school, and to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams. About 18 percent of the more than one million high school students in more than 15,000 secondary schools worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

Students took AP exams in May 2009 after completing challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on a student’s performance on AP exams.

Three Pinecrest High students received the special designation of National Scholar. To be named a National Scholar, a student must receive an average grade of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. Recognized as National Scholars were Benjamin Berk, Eric Parziale, and Joshua Seidenberg.

In addition to the three students named above, nine other students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. From Pinecrest High School are Pierre-Olivier Cote, Caleb Frye, Courtney Harms, Sarah Kruyer, John Wheeler, Scott Whitecar, Rachel Dokich, Frederick Healy and Genevieve Questell. From Union Pines High School are Brian Hayes, Kyle McLean, Benjamin McMichael, Kristopher Morrison, Samuel Peterson, and Stuart Strickland. William Forrest of North Moore High was also named an AP Scholar with Distinction.

Twenty-four students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. From Pinecrest High are Maegan Caliri, Kaylon Kirk, Brenton O’Hara, Meredith Potter, Lindsay Purvis, Kathleen Stone, Connor Sullivan, Tatiana Suvorova, Mary Wilkison, Morgan Zoellner, Kyle Davis, Jeremy Hodges, Leigh Pember, Daniel Rabstejnek, Joseph Rasmus, Sara Walsh and Leslie Walters. From Union Pines High are Derrick Case, Andrew MacPherson, William Miller, Christian Sharpsten, and John Waits. From North Moore High are Kellie Collins and William Hendrickson.

Fifty-nine students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP examinations, with grades of 3 or higher. Recognized as AP Scholars from Pinecrest High are Steven Baldelli, Rachel Bishop, Douglas Clark, Leanne Giles, William Halligan, William Hinson, Joshua Kearns, Antonio Lopez, Logan McDonald, Braden Oldroyd, Tiffany Phasukkan, Kerry Radigan, Melissa Sanders, Victor Santos, Patrick Sazama, Matthew Scott, Matthew Shuster, Kerry Steingraber, Stephanie Vaughn, Brandon Wilkins, Jennifer Archer, Miranda Casey, Patricia Davis, Lauren DeLaunay, Stephanie Downey, Jacob Elliott, Elizabeth Fowle, Timothy Kaiser, Derek Kinney, Dana Parziale, Virginia Rhiner, Alyssa Rocherolle, Bryan Stewart, Eve Von Bleyle and Jasmine Williams.

Recognized as AP Scholars from Union Pines High are Justin Blackburn, Taylor Bridgers, Sabrina Buchanan, David Cooley, Amanda D’Ostroph, William Fondrie, Matthew Fry, Andrew Greene, Summer Hennings, Seth Kosem, Kayla Lively, Anna Maness, Kailyn Mangrum, Tyler Mofield, Meghan Osborne, Joanna Pezzi, Caitlin Reilly, Torii Sutherland, Jackson Wood, and Ethan Workman.

From North Moore High, Victoria Clendenin, Andrew Forrest, Alexis Griffith and Holland Hendricks were named an AP Scholar.

Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award credit, provide for advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on the AP exams. More than 1,400 institutions award a full year’s credit (sophomore standing) to students presenting a sufficient number of qualifying grades. In 2008, 34 AP exams were offered in a wide variety of subject areas.

The College Board’s mission is to connect students to college success and opportunity. It is a not-for-profit membership organization committed to excellence and equity in education that serves over three and a half million students and their parents, 23,000 high schools, and 3,500 colleges through major programs and services in college admissions, guidance, assessment, financial aid, enrollment, and teaching and learning. Among its best-known programs are the SAT, the PSAT/NMSQT, and the Advanced Placement Program (AP).

Moore County students named AP Scholars

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply