You are here
Home > Community > O’Neal Students are Inducted into the National Honor Society

O’Neal Students are Inducted into the National Honor Society

Fallback Image

The O’Neal School
P.O. Box 290
Southern Pines, NC 28388-0290
Contact: Kathy Taylor, Director of Communications

Phone: (910) 692-6920 ext. 129


December 15, 2009

Southern Pines – Twenty-two O’Neal students were recently inducted into the National Honor Society. During the ceremony, current members presented each of the four characteristics of membership: scholarship, leadership, service and character. Students must demonstrate excellence in these areas, in addition to maintaining a certain grade point average to be considered for the National Honor Society. The standard GPA for induction to the National Honor Society is 3.0; however The O’Neal School requires a 3.60 GPA for consideration.

Dr. James J. Dougherty was the guest speake.  After his book “Politics of Wartime Aid” was published, Dr. Dougherty spent most of his career at the National Endowment for Humanities where he directed a media program that funded major TV productions on TBS. After that, he went on to teach undergraduate students at the University of Maryland for 20 years, and then graduate students at George Mason University. Between 1999 and 2004, Dr. Dougherty taught at The O’Neal School, and still returns occasionally as a substitute teacher. He is currently a visiting fellow at the Center of Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he is the executive producer of two documentary films. Dr. Dougherty addressed the inductees on the need for more focus on character in the leadership of our nation and the world.

The 2010 inductees are as follows:

Class of 2010: Katie Jenkins, daughter of Butch and Nancy Jenkins of Biscoe; Lizzie Snow, daughter of Dan and Marie Snow of Pinehurst; Samantha Thompson, daughter of Steve and Shelly Thompson of Pinehurst; Chris Webster, son of Colin and Emily Webster of Whispering Pines.

Class of 2011: Alex Abell, daughter of David Abell of Jupiter, Florida and Jacqueline Abell of Pinehurst; Alex Averbook, son of Allen and Emily Averbook of Pinehurst; Summer Lee Barmore, daughter of Bob and Laura Barmore of Pinehurst; Sarah Brown, daughter of Robert and Monika Brown of Southern Pines; Stephen Coppola, son of Tony and Haydee Coppola of Pinehurst; Abbey Dahl, daughter of Steve Dahl of Pinehurst and Beth Garrison of Southern Pines; Brandt Davis, son of Carty and Holly Davis of Pinehurst; Heather Dyer, daughter of Matt and Trippy Dyer of Pinehurst; Seth Edmonds, son of Dwight and Judith Edmonds of Sanford; Brianna Ek, daughter of Brian Ek of Milbank, South Dakota and granddaughter of Thomas and Eleanor Gallagher of Southern Pines; Matthew Friesen, son of Bob and Anne Friesen of Pinehurst; Scott Karan, son of Steve and Lori Karan of Pinehurst; Jake Lange, son of Katherine Lange of Southern Pines; David Letteney, son of John and Debbie Letteney of Southern Pines; Matt McDougald, son of John and Betsy McDougald of Pinehurst; Amelia Schirmer, daughter of Chuck and Catherine Schirmer of Southern Pines; Maura Thornton, daughter of David and Ann Marie Thornton of Pinehurst and Austin VanDerVeen, son of Kenneth and Michelle Van Der Veen of Southern Pines.

The O’Neal School is a college preparatory, independent day school serving students from Pre-Kindergarten thru 12th grade. It is dedicated to the development of academic excellence, strength of character, and physical well-being of its students in an environment where self-discipline, integrity, and consideration for others are fundamental. For more information about The O’Neal School, hop onto


Inductees.jpg: National Honor Society Inductees take the pledge of honor.

Kathy Taylor

Director of Communications

The O’Neal School

3300 Airport Road / P.O. Box 290

Southern Pines, NC 28388-0290

Telephone:910-692-6920 ext. 129



Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

Facebook login by WP-FB-AutoConnect